Friday, November 29, 2013

Thankful Friday

I am thankful for my physical blessings. The blessings of never going hungry, never sleeping on the street, always having enough clothes to wear, and always having enough money to meet all my basic needs and to enjoy many of my extra desires.

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Thankful Thursday

I am thankful for the gift of language and for the stories, poems, songs, and plays that bring our thoughts and ideas to the world.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Thankful Wednesday

I am thankful that I am able to appreciate beauty and creativity and that I am able to celebrate the differences that make people interesting and unique.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Thankful Tuesday...

I am thankful for my family and the support we provide to one another. My relationships with my family are some of the greatest gifts in my life.

Monday, November 25, 2013

Thankful Monday...

I am thankful for the freedom to travel, to shop, to assemble, to converse, and to express my thoughts without fear of harm.

Sunday, November 24, 2013

A week of thankfulness...

I am thankful for the church, universal and local, and for all the good she does in glorifying God and meeting the needs of her members and her community.

Saturday, November 23, 2013

It seems...


"The world has lost the power to blush over its vice; the Church has lost her power to weep over it."
-Leonard Ravenhill

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Success...

"To laugh often and much, to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children, to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends, to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others, to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition, to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived, THIS is to have succeeded."
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Random Fact Wednesday

A horse cannot breathe through its mouth. If its nostrils are obstructed, it can suffocate.

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

In life...


"I would far rather feel remorse than know how to define it."
- Thomas A’Kempis

Monday, November 18, 2013

Sunday, November 17, 2013

New week...

Each week has over 10,000 minutes.
Make the most of your moments.

Saturday, November 16, 2013

Saturday reflection...

Consider where you want to be on November 16, 2014.
Are the choices you are making today bringing you closer to the future you want or are they leading you away from that future?
Decisions are made one at a time, but each decision leads to another.
Daily decisions matter.
Choose wisely.

Friday, November 15, 2013

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Remember...

"Never let a bad day make you feel like you have a bad life."

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Random Fact Wednesday

The names of the two stone lions in front of the New York Public Library are Patience and Fortitude. They were named by then-mayor Fiorello LaGuardia.

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Truly...

“Anybody can sympathise with the sufferings of a friend, but it requires a very fine nature to sympathise with a friend's success.”
~Oscar Wilde

Monday, November 11, 2013

New plan for 2014

Dear Reader,

I know many of you have come to expect a daily e-mail letting you know that the daily post has been made. Posts go live at 7:01 AM CST and are usually a quote, Scripture, or some other type of encouragement. I will continue to post a daily entry until December 31, 2013. In 2014, I plan to cease with the daily postings and instead provide an original article each week. You will be receiving fewer updates from the site, but I hope that what information you do receive will be more personal and perhaps even more useful. I intend to write more about spirituality, living with compassion, mental illness, and finding joy in life.

Thanks for your continued support of this blog and I hope you have a wonderful week ahead.

Saturday, November 9, 2013

Saturday wisdom...

"Things could always be better, but remember they could always be worse."

Friday, November 8, 2013

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Enough...

"The only thing we never get enough of is love; and the only thing we never give enough of is love."
~Henry Miller

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Truly...

"Wise men are not always silent, but they know when to be."

Monday, November 4, 2013

For those in charge...

"Being positive in a negative situation is not naive. It's leadership."

Sunday, November 3, 2013

Know that...


"To forgive is to set a prisoner free and discover that the prisoner was you." 
-Louis B. Smedes

Friday, November 1, 2013